top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Pennel

Empathy>Opinion

In a world full of opinions, with out facts, judgement without relationship, and fear of peoples opinions over courage to step out to do what’s right... I say go for that thing, that thing you dream of, the business you have always wanted to start, or that family you want to have, the solution to a world problem you feel like you have. Just do it.

The definition of empathy is: the ability to understand and share the feelings of another. While the definition of opinion is: a view or judgment formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge.

Maybe go back and read those two again...

I read something shared online today about suicide awareness prevention. It was a moving image of a young new mother in the hospital, it basically stated that post-partum depression can lead to suicide and to help a young mother you see struggling with her kids.. Very touching and encouraging article.

But, can I tell you what is heart breaking?

I go to the comments. What do you see there??

People arguing over who has the worst kind of depression, how postpartum isn’t that bad, how this kind of mother has it worse, or no, grandparents who help raise kids are the biggest heroes.

I just want to share my heart on a tiny space of the internet. Pain, is pain. Empathy is greater. It brings healing, it brings relationship, it brings help. Opinions over things we have never experienced and judgement do nothing good. I know one thing, here on this planet Earth, not one of us escapes the reality of feeling pain. We can all empathize with each other. Pain is a part of this process on earth. While I may never know the magnitude of some pains, I do have mine. I can decide to not know what you’re going through, not decide how you should handle it, and instead decide to empathize with you.

45 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

No(perfect)body

Hi! Your brand new 30 year old Amanda here. I just finished a work out, still sweating as I type these words, and I should be SO proud of myself for completing the workout, I should be telling my -had

bottom of page